Skip to content

The Super Bowl Advertisements Everyone’s Talking About

February 5, 2013

Did you catch last night’s Super Bowl ad for Dodge Ram Trucks*?  The voice is the late Paul Harvey Aurandt, better known as Paul Harvey.  I expect he is best remembered for his The Rest of the Story radio broadcasts.

Paul Harvey delivered a speech “So God Made a Farmer” to the National Future Farmers of America Convention in 1978.  Portions of it were used for the Dodge Ram’s Super Bowl ad.  I find the words to be very moving; makes me proud to be a farm wife and reaffirms how lucky I am to work with our farming community.

I went online and found a recording of the speech to the National FFA Convention; it is slightly different, a bit longer than in the advertisement.   The original recording, paired with farm pictures is in a YouTube video.

I couldn’t find the original poem, but Paul Harvey wasn’t the author. He printed it in his newspaper column in 1986, disclaiming authorship  It had shown up in his mailbag, unsigned.  He tried in vain to find the author’s identity, speculated that it may have been a farmer or farm wife and admitted to embellishing and editing the original poem to his version.

I hope you take the time to listen to both versions; I prefer the original and am interested in your favorite.  Please let me know in the “Comments” section below.

I found the Budweiser* Clydesdale advertisement to be a tear-jerker for me as well.  From what I could find, most of it was based on truth.  The last part was not true, and filmed in Los Angeles, not Chicago. I wish they’d used the real trainer in the ad; that was an actor playing the trainer.

I’ve been around a Budweiser Clydesdale team a few times; they are such gorgeous, majestic animals – they fill me with a sense of awe.  There is a team at the brewery in Merrimack, New Hampshire, a fun place to visit, tour and sample beer. It’s a fun day trip!

I can’t remember what year it was, but a Budweiser Clydesdale team came to Burlington to be in a parade.  They parked the rig at the UVM farm and let the horses out into the paddocks alongside Spear Street to give them a chance to stretch their legs and get some fresh air after being cooped up inside.  There was quite a bit of excitement when the horses easily stepped over the fences and headed down Spear Street!

Let me know what your favorites were!

* Any reference to commercial products, trade names, or brand names is for information only, and no endorsement or approval is intended.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2013 9:28 am

    God Made a Farmer was wonderful. I had never heard it before. I like the original version as well. Budweiser was my second choice and they continue to do great horse ads, my favorite being the one from several years ago where the yearling puts himself in the harness and “pulls” the big rig out of the barn with hos bigger friends quietly pushing the wagon from the rear. Pure genius..

  2. Anonymous permalink
    February 5, 2013 6:24 pm

    The words I like, not the pick up truck.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    February 5, 2013 1:57 pm

    Budweiser by far!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,757 other followers

