Skip to content

It’s All About Seeing and Being Seen

February 3, 2010

Before leaving the Vermont Farm Show last week, I had to clean the snow off my car.  The car parked behind mine had already been cleaned off, except for their lights.  As I often do, I cleaned their headlights and taillights with my brush.  The car owner approached as I was finishing the back end of her car and gave me a pretty quizzical look.  I quickly explained what I’d been trying to be a good samaritan.

Keep yourself visible!  When you’re cleaning the snow off your car, don’t forget your headlights and taillights.  If your car is grayish/white because of the road salt, that same coating is on your lights.  Grab a handful of snow and clean them off.  Not only will you see better, you will be more visible to other drivers.

Are you using a lot of windshield washer fluid while on the road this winter?   Top off your reservoir when you get home; you might also want to carry a spare jug of windshield washer fluid in your trunk.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 10:59 am

    Great advice. I also wash my front & rear lights off at the gas station while I am pumping gas.

    Good samaritans are hard to find~!

  2. Linda permalink
    February 3, 2010 10:47 am

    Nice job, Gail! And good advice – I often forget about the lights!
    Linda

Leave a Reply

