Skip to content

Extension on retreat

May 19, 2010

I have no clue what kind of snake this is… it was on a rock down below the path right next to the water.  Glad it was down there and   not right in the path.  I like snakes, but at a distance. Sorry for the quality of the photo, it was taken with my phone.  Jessie  Schmitt from New Farmers,  thinks that I saw a milk snake.  They hang out in old foundations and ledges and the like.   She is here too, meeting lots of Extension folks for the first time.

UVM Extension has come to the Basin Harbor Club for the annual retreat.  Here we learn from each other and we get to see our co-workers all in one place.  We have down time to have actual conversations with each other and time to reflect on our work and our mission. Time to take a walk  or run.   I saw Amy from EFNEP cruising on her bike after the sessions yesterday.

So hard to really get down time to regenerate and refocus.  We all get so very busy and caught up in what we do, where we are going and what needs to be done.   The milk snake reminds me to look where I am going. 

Last night just before dinner, an Eagle was spotted flying just above  the bay.  George Cook had his camera and I hope that he was able to get a good shot.  The Eagle reminds me to keep looking forward and to soar to new places.   It reminds me that there is a whole world out there besides my little world and I need to look outward more often.  We could all do a little more of that I think.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2010 9:54 am

    back at ya Christian! hope to see more of you 🙂

  2. UninginoDug permalink
    May 26, 2010 8:17 am

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian

Leave a Reply

