Skip to content

Earthquake!

June 23, 2010

City map

At 1:41 this afternoon, I was settled in  at my desk  and felt my chair moving.  Looked around and saw the cord on the window blinds swinging.  Didn’t hear a large truck going by, or bus…it was quiet.   But my water in my mason jar was moving.   So I went and asked George if he had felt anything.  He looked at me as if I was nuts.   I asked Matt, and he gave me that strange look too.    George and Matt thinking I was nuts is not unusual, but for me to feel it and neither one of the guys, well I guess I am just more sensitive.  

And I did feel it.   And so did a whole lot of folks.  It was a 5.o  from Ontario Quebec.  I checked the USGS site  and wrote a note off, they replied:

Thank you for contacting the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS).   As you may be aware, we have received a lot of email about the  recent earthquake.  

Here is some information about the event:

Magnitude 5.0 – ONTARIO-QUEBEC BORDER REGION, CANADA
2010 June 23 17:41:42 UTC

We don’t get a lot of earthquakes here, but they do happen and there is a great site that has all the information you ever wanted to know about earthquakes in Vermont called the VGS Earthquake Awareness page .  What I will say about it is this:  It was kind of exciting, in a scary sort of way.   I had never felt one before, and I feel so very lucky that my first earthquake experience was pretty bland.  Never would think about earthquake safety here in Vermont.  Didn’t go to an inner wall, or to the door frame or outside.  Just sat there. 

Susan, whose office is but 30 feet down the hall didn’t know anything about it, and she has felt 2 here in Vermont.  Go figure, maybe it has to do with the building.  I am in the middle,  the boys and Susan’s offices are at opposite ends of the building.  If it was any stronger I would have been the first to go,  said Susan.  Susan is convinced that it has to do with oil spilling out of the gulf, something has to fill the void. 

But in all seriousness,  I will have to put some thought into farm safety and earthquakes… who else felt it?

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 25, 2010 2:35 pm

    I had just thought it was blasting at the quarry about five miles away. It was a bit after lunch which is the right time of day for them to be doing it.

Leave a Reply

