Skip to content

A Trip to Walk In Care

December 13, 2011

My husband called yesterday afternoon.  When I answered, he said “can you get away for a couple of minutes?”  After I asked a few questions, he admitted he had cut himself while working in the pole barn and was having difficulty getting it to stop bleeding.  By the time I got home, the bleeding had stopped.  He sheepishly showed me his finger; since the bleeding had stopped his intent was to bandage it and head back to work.  I took one look and nixed that idea.  I called our doctor’s office; they had no openings and advised that we go to the Walk In Care Center at the Fanny Allen Campus.
I will spare you my husband’s grumbling.  The short story is, 4 hours and 8 stitches later, we headed home.  Our neighbor works at Walk In Care, I got to chat with her a bit.  Joyce said that Mondays are the worst days to need their services; Mondays are always very busy, and the wait is long.  So, dear readers, if you are going to have a minor injury, try to choose a day other than Monday.  I decided that the Walk In Care Center is also an excellent place to get sick.  We waited there for a very long time among a lot of hacking, coughing, snuffling people.  Don’t get me wrong, I am very thankful; he had excellent care, the staff was friendly and competent, the number of patients was just too high for the number of staff.
This adventure got me thinking about Tetanus.  Tetanus is an infection of the nervous system with the potentially deadly bacteria Clostridium tetani.  The spores of  C. tetani live in the soil and are found around the world.  Infection begins when the spores enter the body through a break in the skin.  The spores release bacteria that spread and make a poison called tetanospasmin. This poison blocks nerve signals from the spinal cord to the muscles, causing severe muscle spasms.  Without treatment, 1 out of 4 people die.  With treatment, less than 1 out of 10 people die.   This disease is completely preventable through vaccination.  I feel the work that our farmers do puts them at higher risk for tetanus than the general population; they work in the soil, with equipment that has soil on it, and often get scrapes and cuts during their work day.  I feel it’s important our farmers follow the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommendations and get a tetanus vaccination every ten years. I realize many people are against vaccinations for a number of reasons.  If you are a farmer and are against vaccinations, please have a discussion with your physician before you make the decision on a tetanus vaccination.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 13, 2011 3:06 pm

    8 stitches are better than 80 and kudos to your husband for phoning you to make you aware of an unsafe situation at home. Glad it all worked out. You are a good team.

Leave a Reply

